< prevnext >

It Never Ends - Part 2 : John M Armleder & Guests

Exhibition : Thursday 04 February → Sunday 25 April

Monday Closed
Tuesday Closed
Wednesday Closed
Thursday 11:00 - 19:00
Friday 11:00 - 19:00
Saturday 11:00 - 19:00
Sunday 11:00 - 19:00
Square Sainctelette, 21 - 1000 Brussels map

Second part of the vast carte blanche given to the artist John M Armleder (born in 1948, lives and works in Geneva) by KANAL-Centre Pompidou. In September 2019, the artist was invited to take over for a period of seven months, the spectacular spaces of the showroom of the former Citroën garage in Brussels. The result is a dialogue with a series of large installations that he has designed especially for the space, a constellation of exhibitions, performances, concerts and meetings. This second sequence of It Never Ends is an evolving exhibition that gives visitors the chance to continue exploring the world of Armleder and of those he loves. This project that constitutes a collective 'self-portrait' in motion of an essential and unclassifiable figure, reaffirms the ethical and aesthetic dimension of an open work of art by an artist who has never ceased to think of art in terms of collaboration, friendship and hospitality. KANAL-Centre Pompidou, with the collaboration of John M Armleder, has created a public space on the first two levels of the Showroom, that is open Thursday-Sunday from 11.00 am to 7.00pm and that also features a free public library, a bar-restaurant area, a co-working area, workshop spaces for the neighbourhood, schools, associations, etc. and spaces for music and performances. Guest artists: Atelier Barbier Bouvet, Karen Kilimnik, Charlemagne Palestine, Sylvie Fleury Commisioners: Bernard Blistène, Director, Centre Pompidou, Chief Commissioner; Yann Chateigné, Associate Commissioner, KANAL-Centre Pompidou; Anna Loporcaro, DeputyArt Director in charge of Audience development & Partnerships, KANAL-Centre Pompidou; Guy Gypens, Head of Performing Arts, KANAL-Centre Pompidou; Jonathan Pouthier, Conservation attaché at the Film Collection Department of the National Museum of Modern Art, Centre Pompidou, Paris. List of artists: David Adamo, Eric Andersen, Carl Andre, Ay-O , Fia Backström, Atelier Barbier Bouvet, Massimo Bartolini, Francis Baudevin, Lisa Beck, Giovanna Belossi, Wallace Berman, Monica Bonvicini, Gregory Bourrilly, Ludovic Bourrily, George Brecht, Olaf Breuning, AA Bronson, Marcel Broodthaers, Chris Burden, John Cale, Yaima Carrazana, Valentin Carron, John Cavanaugh , Bruce Conner, Isabelle Cornaro, Stéphane Dafflon, Philippe Decrauzat, David Diao, Emilie Ding, Jason Dodge, Robert Filliou, Albert Fine, Sylvie Fleury, Christian Floquet, Francesca Gabbiani, The Genevan Heathen, Poul Gernes, John Giorno, Dan Graham, Amy Granat, Piero Golia, Wade Guyton, Fabrice Gygi, Richard Haldrich, Peter Halley, Geoffrey Hendricks, Gregor Hildebrandt, Alice Hutchins, Ann Veronica Janssens, Joe Jones, Peter Kennedy, Karen Kilimnik, Scott King, Stéphane Kropf, Alix Lambert, George Landow, Patrick Luchini, Elaine Lustig Cohen, George Maciunas, Christian Marclay, Larry Miller, Simon Moretti, Olivier Mosset, Maurizio Nannucci, Amy O’Neill, Yoko Ono, Virginia Overton, Genesis P-Orridge, Laurent Pache, Nam June Paik, Charlemagne Palestine, Mai-Thu Perret, Jeff Perkins, Jock Reynolds, James Riddle, Gerwald Rockenschaub, Dieter Roth, Takako Saito, Paul Sharits, Mieko Shiomi, Carolee Schneemann, Peter Schuyff, Haim Steinbach, Rudolf Stingel, Blair Thurman, John Tremblay, Pierre Vadi, Pieter Vanderbek, Ben Vautier, Xavier Veilhan, Volf Vostell, Bob Watts, Lawrence Weiner, Hannah Wilke, Parker Williams, Jordan Wolfson